JUser: :_load: Unable to load user with ID: 348


    IIn line with the 22nd Anniversary of the Local Government Code celebration, with the theme, “Kilos Progreso, Makilahok sa Pag-asenso”, DILG R-3 conducted a Regional Forum on Good Governance cum Regional Awarding on October 10, 2013 at Oxford Hotel, Clarkfield, Pampanga. The activitywas participated in by more than 300 participants composed of Local Chief Executives, Regional League Presidents of LMP, VMLP, PCL, PBMLP and LnB, representatives from NGAs, CSOs, academe and media and other local officials and functionaries.


   During the forum, updates on the 2013 Barangay Election and Grassroots Budgeting formerly Bottom Up Budgeting or BUB were discussed. Selected local officials also shared their LGU best practices on good governance.

   RD Florida M. Dijan, in her message, emphasized that after 22 years of the enactment of the 1991 Local Government Code, LGUs have shown that they are ready with the powers, responsibilities and accountability that were given to them. She emphasized that the organization of the different LGU leagues coupled with the support of all local government units and active participation of CSOs are needed in the action for reforms and unified call to progress.

   Regional LTIA grand winners awarded were Brgy. East Bajac-Bajac for the Highly Urbanized City (HUC) category;Brgy.Cataning, Balanga City for the Component City category,Brgy.Kitang II/Luz, Limay, Bataan for the 1st to 3rdClass Municipality category; and Brgy.Gugo, Samal Bataan for the 4th-6th class Municipality category.

   Moreover, top performing LGUs on LGPMS recognized were Tarlac province for the provincial category; Angeles City for the HUC category; Cabanatuan City for the Component City category; and San Luis, Aurora for the Municipality category. Further, winners on the October 9, 2013 competition entitled, “TagisanngGaling: The Local Governance Challenge” on the categories of Impromptu Speech, Essay Writing and On-The-Spot Poster Making Contests participated by barangay officials and functionarieswere recognized and awarded.##