Tarlac City, Tarlac – following the election of the eighteen Liga ng mga Barangay (LnB) presidents of the city and municipal chapters, the new set of Provincial LnB Officials in the Province of Tarlac were chosen during their Provincial Chapter Election held at the Sangguniang Panlalawigan Session Hall on July 30.

Hon. Arnold Arcilla of the Municipality of Capas ran unopposed and was reelected as Provincial LnB President together with Hon. Joselito Capitulo of San Jose as Vice President and Hon. Ariel Tabangay of Victoria as Auditor.

Seven (7) members of the Board of Directors were also selected from among them composed of Hon. George Cuchapin (Moncada), Hon. Albert Jose (Camiling), Hon. June Manuel (La Paz), Hon. Linda Manuel (Paniqui), Hon. Noel Rivera (Concepcion), Hon. Jose Salting, Jr. (Bamban), and Hon. Edilberto Tabaquin (Pura), respectively.

The election meeting was presided by PB Arcilla with the assistance of the different committees that were formed during their previous meetings namely, the Registration and Credentials Committee, Nominations Committee, Elections Committee, and the Board of Canvassers.

DILG Tarlac Provincial Director and Board of Election Supervisor (BES) Chairperson Belina Herman thanked the general membership for the smooth and peaceful elections and informed them of what to expect for the coming months.

According to her, the Barangay Newly-elected Officers (BNEO) Orientation, which is slated from August to October 2018 should be prioritized to effectively inform all barangay officials of their responsibilities throughout their stint.

PD Herman also made clear that the salaries of the city/municipal LnB presidents shall be paid as soon as the Certificate of Confirmation is issued to them by the National Liga Executive Board. This document, however, does not preclude their concerned sanggunian to recognize and allow them to attend their regular session.

PB Arcilla took the opportunity to thank all LnB presidents for entrusting him the LnB leadership for the second time and assured them that he will continue to uphold the league's goals by attuning them to the national government's agenda.

Their oath taking followed after lunch and was officiated by Governor Susan Yap. The LnB and barangay officials across the country shall serve for two (2) years consistent with RA 10952.