OATH. Hon. Jose Yap, Jr. officiates the oath taking of four (4) Indigenous People’s Mandatory representatives (IPMRs) in a simple ceremony on February 9, 2018 at the Municipal Building.

TARLAC – to bring about equal representation of the community in all the affairs of the government, DILG Tarlac and the National Commission on Indigenous People (NCIP) witnessed the oath taking of the Municipality of San Jose's Indigenous People's Mandatory Representative (IPMR) to the Sangguniang Bayan as well as the other IPMRs in three barangays.

NCIP Administrative Order No. 001 series of 2009 and the Local Government Code of 1991 provide for the mandatory installment of representatives to all local sanggunians to ensure that they too can participate in all the affairs of the state.

Provincial Director Belina Herman, NCIP Tarlac Provincial Officer Melencio Polon, Cluster Leader Ener Cambronero, and San Jose MLGOO Elisa Soriano witnessed the ceremony officiated by San Jose Mayor Jose Yap, Jr.

Hon. Edna V. Villegas was duly reelected as IPMR of San Jose and took her oath together with Hon. Jaime Castañeda, IPMR of Barangay Iba; Hon. Bonifacio A. Tagarro, IPMR of Barangay Burgos; and Hon. Juanito G. Fallorin of Barangay Sula.

The selection of IPMRs is in accordance with the customary guidelines set by the tribes concerned.

The benefits of IPMRs in sanggunians shall be similar to the emoluments received by the regular members of the council where they belong.