CITY OF MALOLOS, BULACAN – The Province of Bulacan commemorates the 121st Anniversary of the Declaration of the Philippine Independence with a theme, "Kalayaan 2019: Tapang ng Bayan, Malasakit sa Mamamayan", at the historic Barasoain Church on July 12, 2019. The celebration started with a Flag Raising Ceremony followed by an Oath to the Philippine Flag and wreath laying at the monument of General Emilio Aguinaldo, the first president of the country.

The activity was attended by former President of the Republic of the Philippines and currently House Speaker Gloria Macapagal Arroyo who delivered a speech expressing how honored their family is on behalf of her father Diosdado P. Macapagal, the fifth president of the country, for bringing the celebration of Philippine Independence back to June 12.
"Malaking karangalan sa aking pamilya na ang nagtakda ng Araw ng Kalayaan sa tamang petsa na ika-12 ng Hunyo ay ang aking ama. Naisip nya noong kongresista pa sya na hindi tamang gunitain ang paglaya sa ika-4 ng Hulyo dahil iyon din ang independensya ng Estados Unidos, sumasabay tayo sa bansang dating sumakop sa atin at para pa rin tayong nakatali at patuloy na umaasa sa kanyang pagtatanggol," House Speaker Arroyo said.
Governor Wilhelmino M. Sy-Alvarado also delivered a speech highlighting some of the developmental projects in store for Bulacan which aims to contribute in lowering the country's poverty rate. He mentioned various infrastructure projects such as the development of coastal and diversion roads, bridges, railways, and an International Airport in Bulakan, Bulacan. Further, Vice Gov. Daniel R. Fernando highlighted the importance of the event and encouraged all Bulakenyos to take part in strengthening Philippine sovereignty and independence.
The activity was also attended by Congresswoman Lorna Silverio of the third district of Bulacan; Mayor Ambrosio Cruz, League of Municipalties of the Philippines- Bulacan president; Police Chief Superintendent Joel Napoleon Coronel, director of the Police Regional Office III (PRO)-Central Luzon; and Rosario Sapitan of the National Historical Commission of the Philippines.


Featured Videos